• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 fotofill

fotofill

Galactic Master Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3612 posts
  • Interests:I have been doing this for over forty years. My wife approves and most times goes with me on assignments. I do photojournalism for a media group that has 11 newspapers around the Nashville, TN area.

Posted 26 August 2019 - 09:27 PM

Ok, here's the scenario -> I am shooting in a low light gym. ISO is at 10K and I am still a little under exposed. I want to keep my shutter speed at 1/1000. Do I bump the ISO to 12800, OR do I change the EV to +1.0? There has to be a difference somewhere in the results.

Sports and photojournalism
http://www.fotofill.net

#2 Herman

Herman

Eon Timewave Master Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10822 posts
  • Interests:Aviation, flight simulation, computers, nature, photography & travel

Posted 27 August 2019 - 06:51 AM

My logic says the ISO.  Your camera would need to work harder to maintain 1/1000s if set to EV +1.0 and would probably lean towards a <=1/800s shutter speed.

:)

Equipment: D810 | D300 | D50 | B700 | P5000 and some lenses.

Software: Adobe Photoshop Elements 15 + NIK Software Suite

My motto: To learn more today, than I knew yesterday!

#3 Sailjunkie

Sailjunkie

Eon Timewave Hero Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8069 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Sailing, Listening to Jazz, Reading

Posted 27 August 2019 - 11:47 AM

My logic says the ISO.  Your camera would need to work harder to maintain 1/1000s if set to EV +1.0 and would probably lean towards a <=1/800s shutter speed.

:)

I agree with Herman.  Worth a try.  :)

Mark

D810
Various lenses

Member, Canadian Association for Photographic Art

http://markshawphotography.ca

#4 Dennis

Dennis

• Moderators
  • 15831 posts
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 27 August 2019 - 12:21 PM