- - - - -

First Day With Adobe Lightroom

Posted by photojazz, 20 July 2006 · 594 views

The preamble:

1. I don't work for Adobe.
2. I am not a professional photographer, I am an Oracle DBA by day and a rock n roll drummer at night!
3. I don't have the the latest computer systems.
4. I love my magnificent, remarkable...okay already, I will save it...D50..Gotcha!

On the serious side, I just wanted to give a dump of my last three hours working with Adobe Lightroom Beta 3 for Windows.

Here goes.....

Downloading and installation on both my Windows XP Pro 1.7 Ghz laptop and my desktop AMD Athlon 2500+ computers went quicker that I anticipated, about 30 minutes. The installs were flawless, and the system only prompted me two times for the usual EULA (licensing) and install directory but no other interrupts. I did not have to reboot either computers before launching the application (did I say that?)

Did not get a chance to use the laptop but opted for the desktop version for testing. Okay for starters my system did not meet the recommended specs of Pentium 4, 2 Gb RAM ..blah, blah, blah. I have been doing this computer stuff for the past 25 years so I love this challenge of not having the "Recommended System Requirements".

On to Lightroon (LR) (I was in the Army for 21 yrs and love acroymns) any hoot, I found the interface to be user friendly as it opened into a Loupe type display and some of the menus by defaut are loaded so that you can immediately begin using LR.