5 replies to this topic

#1 Gilly

Gilly

Planet Newbie Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:14 PM

Hi I have just joined the forum. I was given my new Nikon D3300 for my birthday in March. I am a real novice and struggling a bit. I need to get a zoom lens and I have done some research but not sure if I am making the right decision. I have found a used 70 - 300mm lens in a camera shop for £299, usually £429 new. I used to get really good close up shots with my Olympus Camedia C760 Ultra zoom - I can stand at the gates of Buckingham Palace and get good shots on the balcony - so that is the sort of zoom lens I am looking for.

Can anyone advise me please?

#2 Dennis

Dennis

Eon Timewave Master Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14342 posts
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:33 PM

Welcome from Colorado.

I don't know that camera, but a google search showed that it had a 10x optical zoom, equiv to a 42-420mm on 35mm. The D3300 is a DX sensor, a cropped sensor from 35mm or full frame (FF). For Nikon, to get the equivalates on a FF lens, you multiply by 1.5. So 70-300 would be 105-450. So, it might work out.

Thanks, Dennis.

Photography: 100 percent art, 100 percent technical. It takes a photographer to blend them into an image.

​Film: That tangible image that you can see and hold.

My Web Site.
My 500px page.

My Instagram.
Member; Colorado Springs Creative Photography Group

Nikon D4, D200, Fm2, FM, Mamiya RB67.

#3 Black Pearl

Black Pearl

Deep Space Master Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5295 posts

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:35 PM

In a word - yes.