Jump to content


Photo

The D7100 and White Balance


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 02 August 2015 - 01:51 PM

Trying to understand about how the D7100 and white balance function; I did what I thought was a good test which has caused me some concern.  The test was taking a series of shots of the same subject (in this case a sunny scene of the back yard which included some shade at noon) using each of the WB settings.  I also set one of the Pre settings using a grey scale card and included that setting in the series.  After transferring and viewing them on the computer screen, I have come away with a real concern.  The Auto and Dir. Sun settings do not look as saturated as the Pre setting.  It is not that they look bad, they just don't look as good to me as the Pre.  So does this test mean that I should make a WB adjustment to a Pre setting every time I shoot outdoors and use it?  If someone could provide some guidance or thoughts based on experience I would really appreciate it.

 

ANovice 

(Trying to learn to take good photographs.)



#2 Herman

Herman

    Eon Timewave Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague & Ermelo, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Aviation, computers, flight simulation, nature, photography and travel

Posted 02 August 2015 - 02:58 PM

I would keep it simple and just initially use auto WB.

The newer models such as yours do a very good job at selecting the appropriate white balance.

 

:) .


Equipment: D810 | D300 | D50 and some lenses.

Software: Adobe Photoshop Elements 15 + NIK Software Suite
 
My motto: To learn more today, than I knew yesterday!

 

 

 

 


#3 Gary Worrall

Gary Worrall

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 02 August 2015 - 06:24 PM

Herman has good advice, 

If you get into trouble, just reset the camera

make sure you haven't also adjusted the colour temperature ,

The command dial will change from daylight to cloudy etc but the sub command dial will change the colour temperature as well

 

The best option is too shoot raw, that way you can always change afterwards, usually the camera gets right in any case, especially if you choose Auto WB

......Gary


- I have a photographic memory but never got it developed -


#4 Sailjunkie

Sailjunkie

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Port Moody, BC Canada
  • Interests:Photography, Sailing, Listening to Jazz, Reading

Posted 02 August 2015 - 07:03 PM

Creative Live's D 810 Fast Start class has same suggestion: use auto WB and shoot RAW.
Mark

D810
Various lenses

Member, Canadian Association for Photographic Art

http://markshawphotography.ca

#5 Donna

Donna

    Galactic Hero Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2410 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Upstate NY
  • Interests:Photography, gardening, reading, knitting, cooking/baking, exploration with my family..

Posted 02 August 2015 - 07:06 PM

I have the D7100 and use auto white balance for the most part.  But I do play around with it and haven't really had any issues.  I don't adjust any color temperatures.


I'm shooting with the D7100 and D60 as my back up.

AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G
AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G
AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6
Tiffen UV Protector
Tiffen Circular Polarizer

#6 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 03 August 2015 - 08:04 AM

Thanks to all for you helpful responses.  Auto WB and Raw it is.  Have tried Picasa and FastStone but was looking to invest in Nikon Capture NX2; need something that is relatively user friendly and Capture sounds more suitable to me.

All your help is really appreciated.



#7 Gary Worrall

Gary Worrall

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 03 August 2015 - 08:25 AM

Nikon Capture NX2 is not supported anymore, Nikon abandoned it, long story

But, Nikon has ViewNX-i and Capture NX-D you can download for free! most probably all you need to start, and, if your unsure about it, you can get help here

I use Lightroom but have the above Nikon software on my system a s I have friends that use it and sometimes ask for advice

......Gary


- I have a photographic memory but never got it developed -


#8 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 03 August 2015 - 09:34 AM

Thanks for the prompt response Gary.  "No longer supported" is not what I needed. :(   Will try your suggestions (ViewNX-i & Capture NX-D).  Is Lightroom user friendly?  And does it require other software for managing albums/photo library?



#9 Gary Worrall

Gary Worrall

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 03 August 2015 - 06:52 PM

Thanks for the prompt response Gary.  "No longer supported" is not what I needed. :(   Will try your suggestions (ViewNX-i & Capture NX-D).  Is Lightroom user friendly?  And does it require other software for managing albums/photo library?

 

Hi there,

Sorry about the bad news, trouble was, Nikon had other software people contributing to the program, unfortunately, they, sold the company and therefore no support, when you think about it, became too hard for Nikon,

After all, they make excellent cameras, not specialising in editing software,

In saying the above, the basic Nikon software does the job

 

"is LR user friendly" ? If you haven't ventured into image editing software much in the past, there will always be an initial learning curve,

I find LR very easy to use, YMMV but Adobe is going to be there for the long haul, and that is of upmost importance,

Why? Well, basically, each editing software has their own "code" for developing raw images, If you use a different software, you will lose all your edits and have to start over each time you change,

There is a way around this, save all your files as tiff's, and you can almost read them everywhere, sounds good, but the files are huge

 

If your thinking of going the Adobe route with LR, you have 2 options,

Buy the stand alone version or go the subscription with the Adobe CC for $9.95 a month which you get both LR and PS

Only downside to the stand alone LR version is that you won't have PS and won't get the new tricks that Adobe put into LR

 

Personal choice I guess, a few don't like the subscription model but I'm very happy with it

 

LR will be able to do almost everything you need, has a catalog, you can crop images, make numerous adjustments, resize for net posting is a breeze and doesn't affect the original file, have a watermark on your exported files, and the list goes on

Also, with Adobe, you have Adobe TV which is a channel that has a bunch of training videos for all their products, and a million on youtube 

 

lastly, I would recommend storing all your images on 2 external drives, (the minimum), just have software on your computer, from the start, LR can put all your images on the external drive and use other software to clone that drive

If you google,"how do I get all my images back" or "all my images have gone" you will know the reason!  :)

Hope this helps,

........Gary


- I have a photographic memory but never got it developed -


#10 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 04 August 2015 - 08:14 AM

Thanks again for all the information Gary.  A lot of info and much to think about.  Do watch a lot of you-tube videos on how to, so will check for software videos also.  There is so much to learn as well as figuring out good technique using the camera itself, not to mention all the peripheral accessories one needs.   :wacko:



#11 Gary Worrall

Gary Worrall

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 04 August 2015 - 08:33 AM

This is LR 4 but some really good videos to watch

http://tv.adobe.com/...op-lightroom-4/


- I have a photographic memory but never got it developed -


#12 Sailjunkie

Sailjunkie

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Port Moody, BC Canada
  • Interests:Photography, Sailing, Listening to Jazz, Reading

Posted 04 August 2015 - 03:27 PM

I've been following this thread with a bit of interest.

 

Like Gary, I have been really pleased with the Lightroom subscription.  It's part of Creative Cloud and the Creative Cloud support section has a lot of outstanding videos.  The bonus is that updates are automatic.

 

Hope it works out for you.


Mark

D810
Various lenses

Member, Canadian Association for Photographic Art

http://markshawphotography.ca

#13 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 07 August 2015 - 03:46 PM

Thanks again for everyone's input.  Will check out all the info and make additions to the Christmas list.  

Would have responded sooner but had taken TWC up on their offer for an internet upgrade a few days ago and have just now gotten back on-line.  :angry:   One never really appreciates ones access until they have to do without it for a time.   :)



#14 ericbowles

ericbowles

    Planet Guardian Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 342 posts

Posted 04 September 2015 - 07:15 AM

I know this is a little older post, but wanted to pass on a couple of suggestions.

 

Most of the WB tools including the camera Auto White Balance are intended to neutralize the color of lighting.  Gray points in editing work the same way.  But they don't help much in capturing the actual color of a scene - they neutralilze the lighting temperature.

 

Auto WB generally works well for mixed lighting and indoors.  Outdoors you will probably have better results most of the time by simply selecting Sunny Daylight.  If you use Auto WB outdoors, it provides a neutral color of light.  That's fine, but it is neutralizing the light you you probably want to retain.  Nice warm light of the golden hours is neutralized to look like midday.  Soft green light of a forest scene is neutralized and becomes bland.  You still may need to make adjustments for the blue hours or heavy clouds or shade, but Daylight is a better starting point.

 

If you set your camera for Live View, you can hold the button and adjust WB and see the resulting effect.  It's particularly good if you simply want to get close to a correct WB.


Eric Bowles

Bowles Images

www.bowlesimages.com

 

Join my Workshops and Tours - Workshops and Private Instruction 


#15 ANovice

ANovice

    Planet Basic Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Photography, woodworking, golf & travel.

Posted 04 September 2015 - 10:57 AM

Great information and suggestions.  Will go outside and check out the Live View with different WB settings.  Fixing to leave on vacation and really want to get the best possible shots, particularly since I'm not much on post processing.  

Your response is appreciated and very timely.  Thanks.

 

Agge






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users