#1 utshutterbug

utshutterbug

Planet Newbie Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Archery

Posted 13 July 2015 - 08:45 PM

I put a UV filter on my 18-140 lens and noticed it took 3-5 attempts before the focus locked on target correctly.......took off the filter and things worked fine.

Is that normal? If I use a filter should I be focusing manually?

Should I even bother with a UV filter.....did it mainly for lens protection but...

off the subject at hand, I attached a shot of my grandson that I am rather proud of all things considered.

Attached Files

Ed
Nikon D5200
18-140 DX AF-S Nikkor
55-300 DX AF-S Nikkor
Ya, I am new to this but I love it.

https://www.facebook...y?ref=bookmarks

#2 james23p

james23p

Eon Timewave Master Member

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23708 posts
  • Interests:I am an avid film user and digital user. I enjoy both formats and firmly believe they can live side by side.

Right Jazz! :D

Posted 13 July 2015 - 08:52 PM

Never had an issue with a filter on and to be honest the only time I use a protective filter is in real rough conditions with lots of dust, sand or the possibility of salt water exposure. Most or 95% of the time I just use the lens hood and cap.

Jim

God bless all those in harms way and Go Navy!

Nikon P900 Nikon P330

F100 w MB-15, N80, FM3a, FE2(Black and Silver) and EM.

Nikkor 24-85G ED AF-S VR, 70-300G ED AF-S VR, 28-105 3.5-4.5 AF-D, 50 1.8 AF-D

Nikon Series E lens, 28mm, 100mm, 135mm, 75-150mm, 70-210 f4.

MF Nikkor's 50 f2 Ai, 500 f4 ED Ai-P.

MF Rokinon 14mm f2.8 ED AE UMC(Ai-P)

MF Rokinon 85mm f1.4 ASP AE UMC(Ai-P)

Pro Manfrotto 055XV with Markins M10 ,Sirui P-326 6-Section Carbon Fiber Monopod with Markins Q3 Emille, Manfrotto Compact MKC3-H01M with Combo Head, 3Pod PTT1H Table Top Tripod with Giottos MH1304 Ballhead.

#3 james23p

james23p

• Admin
  • 23708 posts