• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 LightMeter

LightMeter

Galactic Hero Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2694 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy photography(of course)and I'm a gadget freak, especially if it can be used in photography.

Posted 16 December 2016 - 05:54 PM

I've been using the 18-135 alot for 3 years now and it gives good images. But VR, metal mount, and focus distance scale would be nice. However, the main reason I want to upgrade is 135mm is not that far into telephoto range. I have better lenses when I need them but would like a superzoom when I don't feel like changing lenses. Has anyone had experience with the 16-300? From the research I've done IQ is great from 16-135. But as you get closer to 200 and 300 quality degrades. I'm thinking about buying one from B&H and returning it if I don't like it. If I end up keeping it and it can match the Nikkor 55-300VR at 300 I'll probably sell the 55-300. I thought about the smaller cheaper Nikkor 18-300 but the 16-300 is wider and has a focus distance scale.

Edited by LightMeter, 16 December 2016 - 05:57 PM.

Bill

Still shooting DX digital and don't plan on going full frame.

D7100, D7000, D40, Canon M50, and a few 35mm film bodies

"I support capital punishment. Everyone in the capital should be punished".---Fred Sanford(Redd Foxx)

#2 justshootit

justshootit

Deep Space Hero Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4343 posts
  • Interests:Event photography, candids, getting photos of people at their best.

Posted 18 December 2016 - 07:11 AM

You might look into the 18-270 as well. My wife has one and while I have not done any research into IQ, I have also not noticed any big issues. You'd need to do some further research to know for sure.

Not sure it's still made but you can likely still find new ones out there.
Don
==========================================================