• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 fotofill

fotofill

Galactic Master Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3570 posts
  • Interests:I have been doing this for over forty years. My wife approves and most times goes with me on assignments. I do photojournalism for a media group that has 11 newspapers around the Nashville, TN area.

Posted 23 February 2019 - 02:26 PM

Besides the never ending rain in the middle TN area, I got hit with computer drive issues.

First, my MBP's hard drive started sending messages of problems. So, I ordered a 1TB drive. I forgot that Apple changed from torx screws to pentalobe screws on the back of the body. I ordered a set of pentalobe screwdrivers. 

I use HD enclosures from Other World Computing. My computer HD is backed-up, I do not keep images on it. My 2011 Mercury Elite Dual AL-Pro would not boot the backup drives. I ordered another dual case and loaded the drives. Not so fast my friend. The new enclosure did not recognize the RAID set up from previous enclosure. You know, we all know that eventually hard drives fail, but I never dreamed of an enclosure failing. And, the new ones have different technology. 

I ordered a BIG drive for the new enclosure to go with the one I can safely save. I still have hope of getting the back-up drive's data. Cloud for 10TB is too expensive for me, so I am back to hard drive storage. It's Sat. and I have assignments at 3 and 7.

Just a rant... and suggestion to have multiple places for saving data. 8-)

Sports and photojournalism
http://www.fotofill.net

#2 Leaviathan

Leaviathan

Planet Master Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Musician-bass, guitar, piano, lap steel, percussion. Audio Engineer-software & hardware platforms.

Posted 23 February 2019 - 07:22 PM

I use external HD's, I don't like storing stuff online