Jump to content


Photo

HDR Time-lapse


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Black Pearl

Black Pearl

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5338 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Whitburn UK

Posted 24 October 2010 - 02:45 AM

Found this group on Vimeo and was blown away with the results.

Basically you set the camera on a 3/5/7 shot auto bracket to get your HDR sequence then set it to run a time-lapse sequence. Now to be fair not all camera can do this but with luck my D300s can.

Rotten day yesterday but I was really keen to give it a whirl so the camera went into the conservatory and the kids were banned from going near it. Set the camera at medium jpeg (no need for RAW files or 12 meg ones as full HD is only 2meg) then set it to fire off a five shot auto bracket and finally set the intervalometer delay to 30 seconds.

Ended up with 1350 shots that I downloaded into a new folder.
Ran the first five through Photomatix to get a reasonable looking image.
Next I set Photomatix to run a batch on the entire folder, you tell it how many shots are in the sequence - what processing to do (last used in this case) - tell it where and how to save them and press go.......took it a while but I just wandered off and left it.
Next I had found a tutorial that recommended virtualdub a free video making programme to turn the 370 new images into a HD Video.


and the results:

[url="http://vimeo.com/16134715"]http://vimeo.com/16134715[/url]


Not the best looking HDR I'll admit but it worked, I know how to get the results I'm after and I have a list of locations I want to try. All I need is some nice sunsets/sunrises and the time to go and stand in one spot for two + hours.

Sorry its a link but this site doesn't allow Vimeo media to show correctly.
God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him.

#2 Black Pearl

Black Pearl

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5338 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Whitburn UK

Posted 24 October 2010 - 04:09 AM

Turns out the D300s has another trick up its sleeve - you can tell it when to start the time-lapse sequence.

So......I left it on the tripod last night, set it to switch on and start recording at six o'clock this morning and let it run until nine.

[url="http://vimeo.com/16135904"]http://vimeo.com/16135904[/url]

I can only upload one HD video a week to Vimeo so the quality in this link isn't as good - in the full HD file it is pin sharp.

Watch the bottom, middle window - you can see the rain build up and starlings on the roof tops.
God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him.

#3 Dennis

Dennis

    Eon Timewave Master Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14651 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 24 October 2010 - 08:49 AM

Slick... I think My D200 can do this as well. Got to try this as well.

Thanks, Dennis.

Photography: 100 percent art, 100 percent technical. It takes a photographer to blend them into an image.

​Film: That tangible image that you can see and hold.

My Web Site.
My 500px page.

My Instagram.
Member; Colorado Springs Creative Photography Group

Nikon D4, D200, Fm2, FM, Mamiya RB67.
 


#4 Dennis

Dennis

    Eon Timewave Master Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14651 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 29 October 2010 - 03:30 PM

I am trying this with the D200, this is a quick test. I set it up to take a shot every 15 minutes. I used JPG fine, mostly because I forgot your recommendation for the jpg med. I am going to use lightroom to make the video, and maybe MS movie maker as tests. Will post when I get this first test done. Should be done in five hours. This is so cool BP. I have always wanted to do time laps, but the cost was so great with film. Now, wow, I have never thought about using this stuff this way. I was wondering, why you used 30 seconds? Is that just to make smoother transition?

Thanks, Dennis.

Photography: 100 percent art, 100 percent technical. It takes a photographer to blend them into an image.

​Film: That tangible image that you can see and hold.

My Web Site.
My 500px page.

My Instagram.
Member; Colorado Springs Creative Photography Group

Nikon D4, D200, Fm2, FM, Mamiya RB67.
 


#5 Black Pearl

Black Pearl

    Deep Space Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5338 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Whitburn UK

Posted 30 October 2010 - 12:50 AM

Used 30 seconds to get enough frames to make a reasonable length video clip is a fairly short time. The 24 hour one I'm trying to do will be shot every 60 seconds as at a 25fps in video format this will be 60 seconds.
God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him.

#6 Dennis

Dennis

    Eon Timewave Master Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14651 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 30 October 2010 - 02:57 AM

Thanks BP, I think I get it.

Thanks, Dennis.

Photography: 100 percent art, 100 percent technical. It takes a photographer to blend them into an image.

​Film: That tangible image that you can see and hold.

My Web Site.
My 500px page.

My Instagram.
Member; Colorado Springs Creative Photography Group

Nikon D4, D200, Fm2, FM, Mamiya RB67.
 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users