Photo

Dennis' thoughts on toning and black and white.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Dennis

Dennis

Eon Timewave Master Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15333 posts
  • Interests:Photography, music, hiking (part of photography).

Posted 30 October 2015 - 11:41 PM

As request, and I know this has taken me a bit, however I want to have samples. 

These are my thoughts, and my processes. I came to these thoughts over time, via; trail and error, looking at others work, asking questions, working on my vision. This is not gospel. This is not stone, this is one person's view on the subject, which is still evolving as time and abilities move forward. Your milage may very. You can disagree with anything I say. Feel free to add your nuances or your thoughts. I'm still learning, and can use more outside thoughts.

I like black and white to have nice smooth transitions. I don't want to start with a grainy image, as the process will just make that worse. If I'm going for grain, I will add it later. As I mentioned in another post, you need to see in black and white. I'm guilty of shooting an image, with no intention of it being black and white. And deciding later to make it black and white. While, these can turn out really great, it never has (for me) the same feel as me knowing and planning for it to be black and white.

I have always thought of toning as an enhancement for something; mood, feeling or enriching the tones. For Portraits, I will go warm and find a shade that makes the portrait work. Like, if the person had great, large brown eyes. I will mix sepia to be on the brown side, so that I can keep the eyes with the same feeling.

I don't, or more correct, go heavy handed. I like to try and keep the image monochrome, with some hint that makes one wonder; what  is differant. For example;

Attached File  Bran-Edit-3.jpg   400.96KB   0 downloads