• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 aoakley89

aoakley89

Planet Basic Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Interests:Farming, horses, photography, golf, prowler (side-by-side) riding anytime of the year, helping my boyfriend restore cars and trucks, going to car shows and hanging out with our best friends.

Posted 05 September 2014 - 02:53 PM

Hello Everyone,

I need some input/advice on ND filters.  I'm still learning my new camera so I don't need anything too expensive or too fancy (haha).  Could someone please explain the difference in the ND filters? And which one I can use on the camera without having to focus first?  If I said that correctly. 

Any information will be greatly appreciated!  I want to get out there and experiment more with my photography!

Thank you,

Christina :-)

Imagination disposes of everything; it creates beauty, justice, and happiness, which is everything in this world. Pascal

Nikon D5200
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G

#2 Herman

Herman

Eon Timewave Master Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10665 posts
  • Interests:Aviation, flight simulation, computers, nature, photography & travel

Posted 06 September 2014 - 12:42 PM

Christina, RonW is our ND expert and I'm sure he could give you some good advice.

My primary choice of brands are B+W (brass ring), Hoya (aluminium ring) and Nikon. As far as I know Nikon is not in the ND-filter market.

I think you can still focus using an ND6 filter but perhaps one of our Planteers can confirm that. Probably also dependant on the camera model used.

My ND-filter is a 9-stop ND500 manufactured by Light Craft Workshop.

Perhaps something similar to a Light Craft Workshop Variable ND-filter is the answer. ND values run from 2 to 8. Further higher ranges are available but more costly.